This fascinating history of Chalfont St Giles was written in 1896 by the Reverend Pownoll W. Phipps, Rector of the Parish from 1886 to 1901. Last re-printed in 1910, this book provides details of the origins and subsequent development of the village, and an in-depth commentary about the Parish Church, John Milton, William Penn and a description of many of the large local houses, their historical importance and the various families living within them.
This book has been faithfully reproduced from original material kindly supplied by Gordon Patrick. Editorial production was performed by Andrew Webber, and printing by Robert Fowler.
Price: 5.00. Available from the Village Surgery in Townfield Lane.
All profits from this book will go to support local village organisations.